Another studio posting

Last weekend TSG members met for the first of our twice yearly get-togethers and because DIS/rupt is coming ever closer, I took the opportunity in between the workshop sessions with Georges Wenger, to find time with members and ask them about the work they have been developing for the exhibition. Over the coming weeks I will post more of these interviews but today I thought you would like to hear about the work that has been created by Julia Triston. Living in the North East of England, Julia is well known to many through her teaching and books. This is what she had to say. As always, I asked Julia about the specific area of the DIS/rupt project she was investigating or exploring.

My pieces for the DIS/rupt exhibition investigate personal conflict and the trauma and issues surrounding divorce. A breakdown of a relationship can have a lasting effect physically, mentally, emotionally and financially; this disruption can impact the whole family. I have drawn on my own experiences for this exhibition, which has been both painful and liberating.

julia-triston-sketchbook-and-detail-2-copy
Sketchbook and detail

Julia, can you tell us something about the piece you are working on for DIS/rupt?

I am working on two pieces for DIS/rupt. The first, ‘To Know A Veil’, concerns my writings and personal responses to my feelings, over a four year period, whilst going through a lengthy divorce. Reflections of the disruption caused to my life are translated directly from my journals.

julia-triston-detail-1jpg-copy
Detail, in progress

My second piece is interactive. ‘Divorce Discourse’ explores communication; there are many times in life when we wish we had or hadn’t said something that could have made a difference to ourselves, our relationships or the paths we have taken in life. I have started some sentences and I invite viewers to disrupt my work by completing them in their own words.

julia-triston-detail-3-copy
Detail

What are the materials and processes that you are working with?

‘To Know A Veil’ is worked on a full length vintage veil (from 1938) and contemporary bridal netting with free machine embroidery. ‘Divorce Discourse’ is presented in three A3 frames and also worked with free machine embroidery on contemporary bridal netting. Both pieces will be wall mounted.

What message do you hope the viewers of your work will take away from the exhibition?

My aim is to give viewers an insight into the fragility of relationships and to consider the impact of communication in our daily lives, especially with our loved ones. I hope my pieces will resonate with others in a positive way and inspire viewers to express themselves in their own relationships as well as through my exhibition work.

julia-triston-detail-4
Detail

You are one of the TSG tutors running workshops during the DIS/rupt exhibition, briefly, what can your students expect from the class?

My ‘Text in Textiles’ workshop will involve stitching letters and/or words onto collaged backgrounds using upcycled materials. The content of the pieces will be personal – a special memory, an important poem, a specific word or name – and the texts may include imagery to support the sentiment expressed. Techniques will include layering, collaging, appliqué and hand embroidery. The workshop will be busy, messy and fun!

The workshop sounds fun, Julia, and your work very thought provoking, I’m sure it will resonate with many people. Thank you for taking the time away from the workshop to speak to me about your piece. I’m really looking forward to seeing the pieces in the Gallery.

As always, full details about DIS/rupt can be found on the group’s website at this link  TSG  and booking and details about the workshops including Julia’s can be found at this link. SIT select 2017

One thought on “Another studio posting

Leave a Reply

